International online singing workshop series | Sun 20 Sept – 18 Oct

£7.00£24.00

International online singing workshops – join us wherever you are.

Join singers from across England, Scotland, Wales, the Netherlands, Canada and the US in our third online singing workshop series. 

Open up your voice, learn uplifting songs by ear, immerse yourself in glorious harmonies and connect with other singers.

The best online singing experience I’ve enjoyed this lockdown

Amazing… easy to follow, great fun and so well organised

A wonderful and satisfying online singing experience

As close as you can get to the real thing

Fantastic… life enhancing

International online singing workshop series:

  • 5 online singing workshops culminating in an online Big Sing to enjoy all the songs we have learned
  • wide variety of songs from different harmony singing traditions, including songs from Jane’s new album, One touch of nature
  • vocal exercises to open up your voice, increase your range and resonance and release tension
  • online access to teaching tracks between sessions – all songs will be taught first in the workshops.

Led by Jane Harris, Director of Songways

Review of the second series

£24 | Remainder of workshop series | Sunday 27 September – 18 October

£7 | Single workshop | Sunday 27 September 7:30 – 8:30pm UK time

All workshops start 7:30pm UK time | 11:30am US West Coast | 2:30pm EDT

Please scroll down for workshop dates and times.

Please book your place below. You will receive an email at least two hours before the workshop inviting you to register for the Zoom meeting.

SKU: SeptOctseries2020 Category: Tags: , ,

Description

International online singing workshop series led by Jane Harris

  • Sunday 20 September | 7:30 – 8:30pm UK time | 11:30am – 12:30pm US West Coast | 2:30 – 3:30pm EDT
  • Sunday 27 September | 7:30 – 8:30pm UK time | 11:30am – 12:30pm US West Coast | 2:30 – 3:30pm EDT
  • Sunday 4 October | 7:30 – 8:30pm UK time | 11:30am – 12:30pm US West Coast | 2:30 – 3:30pm EDT
  • Sunday 11 October | 7:30 – 8:30pm UK time | 11:30am – 12:30pm US West Coast | 2:30 – 3:30pm EDT
  • Sunday 18 October | Online Big Sing7:30 – 9pm UK time | 11:30am – 1pm US West Coast | 2:30 – 4pm EDT

What to expect…

The Zoom meeting will open 15 minutes before the start of the workshop so that you can arrive, say hello to other singers and ask for help if you need it. We’ll start the workshop with vocal exercises to open up your voice. I’ll then lead you through the songs, teaching the harmony parts one by one and we will gradually bring the songs together, singing simultaneously in harmony. I’ll round off each session with a fiddle tune for you all to enjoy and there’ll be a chance to chat with other singers after the workshop in smaller breakout rooms.

I’ll be using a mix of my own voice and violin live, my own harmony recordings and other source recordings to give us as rewarding a singing experience as possible. It works really well, giving us the sense of singing in harmony while connecting with other singers.

Online resources

_________________________________

About the leader

Jane Harris is an experienced choir leader and Director of Songways, based in Bath, UK. She has a clear, inclusive and enabling teaching style, uncovers the best in singers’ voices and draws people together with heartfelt, resonant singing. Jane has a rich, vibrant voice, plays the violin and has just released her first album of songs inspired by the natural world – One touch of nature. She also performs with her own vocal nonet, Rolling Harmony.

I’m passionate about the songs we sing and I’d love to share them with you… harmonies that lift us up, powerful songs that draw us together and songs that bring us to a deep sense of stillness and peace.

_________________________________

How to take part…

  1. You will need to download Zoom onto your computer, tablet or phone if you have not already done so. Go to this link: https://zoom.us/download and download “Zoom Client for Meetings”. We recommend that you use a computer if you have one. Otherwise, a tablet or phone is fine.
  2. Having booked a place, you will be sent an email at least two hours before the workshop to register for the Zoom meeting. You’ll also receive the words for the songs and if you book for the series you’ll receive a password for the online resources.
  3. Once your registration for the Zoom meeting has been confirmed, you’ll then receive the link you’ll need to join the meeting.
  4. When you join the meeting, use headphones if you have them to give you better sound quality.
  5. Try putting your device up at chest height so that you can stand to sing without needing to look down.
  6. Due to the delays inherent in everyone’s internet connections, people will have their mics muted while we sing. You will be able to hear my voice, my violin, and multiple voice harmony recordings, giving you the sense of singing in harmony with others.

Additional information

Book Now

,

Signup for our Newsletter

To ensure you receive details of our events. Click here to join.

Members Area

If you are a Songways member, click here to access information, lyrics and audio examples.